Advertisement

Oil paint that won't dry

topic posted Thu, December 29, 2005 - 1:46 PM by  Camille
Share/Save/Bookmark
Hello.
I'm new to oil painting and I recently started a painting using Rembrandt oil paints mixed with a "water-mixable" oil medium. It's been three days since I painted the lighter areas of the picture and now I'd like to start on darker areas and the light areas are still totally wet.
I'm in Vegas now and there's not much humidity.
Is this common? Is there a drying spray or something that would fix the lighter areas so that the darker colors won't bleed into them?
Thanks for any advice!
:-)
posted by:
Camille
SF Bay Area
Advertisement
  • Uh, yeah. With straight oils, I'd never be suprised at things being wet for a week. There's not going to be a 'bleeding' problem, but instead you'll be picking up the old layers when you put on the new. Oil painting is a time consuming process, which is why so many people (not me) prefer acrylic paints.

Also, if Rembrandt paints are mixed with poppy oil (which many oil paints are today to avoid any color change or yellowing), it could take weeks to dry to the touch. Poppy oil takes forever to dry. Look at the tube for the "binder" or "medium" to know- it'll be marked right below the type of "pigment" used. Even if it's linseed oil, if it's put on thick, it could take weeks to dry, also.

Remember, oil doesn't "dry" by evaporation, it oxidizes, a chemical process that is affected by temperature, as high temp makes chemical reactions go faster, and colder temps slow things down. If you have the air-conditioner on, that'll slow down the process. If you put a heat lamp near your painting, it'll speed it up (do NOT burn down your house- those things get HOT!)